Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Directors Eastern Illinois Economic Development Authority (EIEDA) April 10, 2020 Champaign, Illinois

Members Present

Ken Barragree, Iroquois County Randy Berger, Ford County Erica Briggs, Vermilion County Jeff Lahr, Coles County George Levi, Governor Appointee David McCabe, Moultrie County Frank Mulholland, Shelby County Jeff Voight, Edgar County

Members Absent

Randy Jo Keith, Piatt County Jim Mikeworth, Douglas County Mitch Swim, Champaign County

Others Present

Andrew Hamilton, Executive Director Warren Ribley, Assistant Executive Director

The meeting was called to order at 12:02 p.m. by Executive Director Hamilton. It was moved and seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Following discussion, the motion carried. It was moved and seconded to approve the September 14, 2018 meeting minutes and the minutes of all previous meetings. Following discussion, the motion carried. It was moved and seconded to approve the Treasurer's Report. Following discussion, the motion carried.

Resignation of Chairman Swim – Staff briefed the board regarding the resignation of Chairman Mitch Swim. Mitch has started a new career that does not provide opportunities for him to assist in economic development. He was the first Chairman of the Authority elected on April 13, 2007 and served thirteen years as Chairman. Under his reign the Authority facilitated over \$132 million in financing and created 312 new jobs in the region. The Board and Executive Director acknowledged the valuable contribution he made to the success of the Authority and thank him for his service.

<u>Resolution No: 20-001 – A Preliminary Inducement Resolution on behalf of</u> <u>Mattoon Towers in an amount up to \$8,500,000</u> - Staff presented the project. Mattoon Towers is a multi-family housing development located at the corner of Prairie and North First Street in Mattoon, IL. The project is designed to cater to persons living independently who are 62 years of age and older and disabled. Portions of the apartment are specially designed for the physically handicapped and disabled. The facility has easy access to parks, shopping centers, schools, medical facilities and houses of worship. Dial-a-Ride, a rural public transportation program picks up outside the front door of the facility. Federal Government programs subsidize the rent for qualified applicants. The Company focuses on development and management of multi-family apartment communities throughout the United States. They have extensive experience with developments that work with Low Income Housing Tax Credits, Section 8, commercial and market rate properties. The total project is \$14.0 mil and will create 20 construction and 3 permanent jobs.

Thereupon, the Executive Director presented and read the Resolution. A motion to approve the Resolution as presented and read be adopted was made by David McCabe and seconded by Jeff Lahr. Roll was called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the resolution. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Ken Barragree, Randy Berger, Erica Briggs, Jeff Lahr, George Levi, David McCabe, Frank Mulholland and Jeff Voight. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Randy Jo Keith, Jim Mikeworth and Mitch Swim. WHEREUPON, the Executive Director declared the motion carried and the resolution adopted and did direct the secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

<u>Resolution No. 20-002 – A Resolution regarding the Scheduling of Meetings</u> <u>for 2020 and 2021</u> - Staff presented the Resolution. Following discussion, it was moved and seconded to approve the Resolution as presented. The motion carried.

<u>Election of Officers</u> – Discussion took place regarding the election of Officers for the coming fiscal year until replaced. It was moved and seconded to elect George Levi – Chairman, Jeff Voight – Vice-Chairman, Jeff Lahr – Secretary and David McCabe – Treasurer, Andrew Hamilton as Executive Director, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer and Ethics Officer with authorization to take actions necessary for any or all of those elected to sign on all accounts of the Authority. Following discussion, the motion carried.

With no further business, it was moved and seconded to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:37 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by, Jeff Lahr, Secretary