## Minutes of the Meeting of the Board of Directors Eastern Illinois Economic Development Authority (EIEDA) September 14, 2018 Champaign, Illinois

## **Members Present**

Ken Barragree, Iroquois County Randy Berger, Ford County Erica Briggs, Vermilion County Ben Denney, DCEO Jeff Lahr, Coles County George Levi, Governor Appointee Frank Mulholland, Shelby County Mitch Swim, Champaign County Jeff Voight, Edgar County

## Members Absent

Randy Jo Keith, Piatt County David McCabe, Moultrie County Jim Mikeworth, Douglas County

## **Others Present**

Andrew Hamilton, Executive Director Warren Ribley

The meeting was called to order at 12:02 p.m. by Chairman Swim. It was moved by Secretary Lahr and seconded by Member Berger to approve the agenda as presented. Following discussion, the motion carried. It was moved Member Berger and seconded by Member Voigt to approve the February 9, 2018 meeting minutes and the minutes of all previous meetings. Following discussion, the motion carried. The Treasurer's Report was suspended.

<u>Resolution No: 18-003 – A Bond Resolution on behalf of the Haven at</u> <u>Marketplace - Brinshore Development in an amount up to \$13,000,000</u> - Staff presented the multi-family housing project co-developed by Brinshore Development and the Housing Authority of Champaign County called the Haven at Market Place. The new construction of the housing complex will be on Prospect Avenue, Champaign, IL on an eight acres site north of I-74. The project will include a 99-unit three-story senior housing building and a second 12-unit one story building for individuals with special needs for a total of 111 units, of which 107 are one bedroom and 4 are two-bedroom. The borrower will be the Housing Authority of Champaign County. The project is approximately \$20 mil and will create 20 construction and 4 permanent jobs. The Board has approved a similar Resolution for this project in the past. A motion to approve was made by Member Voigt and seconded by Member Berger.

Thereupon, Chairman Swim presented and read the Resolution. Member Levi moved and Member Berger seconded that the resolution as presented and read be adopted. Chairman Swim directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the resolution. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Ken Barragree, Randy Berger, Erica Briggs, Ben Denney, Jeff Lahr, George Levi, Frank Mulholland, Mitch Swim and Jeff Voight. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Randy Jo Keith, David McCabe and Jim Mikeworth. WHEREUPON, Chairman Swim declared the motion carried and the resolution adopted and did direct the secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

<u>Ordinance No. 18-004 – An Ordinance to adopt a Policy Prohibiting Sexual</u> <u>Harassment</u> - Staff presented the Ordinance. Thereupon, Chairman Swim presented and read the Ordinance. Secretary Lahr moved, and Member Voight seconded that the Ordinance as presented and read be adopted. Following discussion, Chairman Swim directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the resolution. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Ken Barragree, Randy Berger, Erica Briggs, Ben Denney, Jeff Lahr, George Levi, Frank Mulholland, Mitch Swim and Jeff Voight. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Randy Jo Keith, David McCabe and Jim Mikeworth. WHEREUPON, Chairman Swim declared the motion carried and the resolution adopted and did direct the secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

<u>Ordinance No. 18-005 – An Ordinance to adopt a Policy regarding Ethics and</u> <u>Conflicts of Interest</u> - Staff presented the Ordinance. Thereupon, Chairman Swim presented and read the Ordinance. Secretary Lahr moved, and Member Voight seconded that the Ordinance as presented and read be adopted. Following discussion, Chairman Swim directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the resolution. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Ken Barragree, Randy Berger, Erica Briggs, Ben Denney, Jeff Lahr, George Levi, Frank Mulholland, Mitch Swim and Jeff Voight. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Randy Jo Keith, David McCabe and Jim Mikeworth. WHEREUPON, Chairman Swim declared the motion carried and the resolution adopted and did direct the secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

<u>Ordinance No. 18-006 – An Ordinance to adopt a Policy regarding</u> <u>Procurement</u> - Staff presented the Ordinance. Thereupon, Chairman Swim presented and read the Ordinance. Secretary Lahr moved, and Member Voight seconded that the Ordinance as presented and read be adopted. Following discussion, Chairman Swim directed that the roll be called for a vote upon the motion to adopt the resolution. Upon the roll being called, the following members voted AYE: Ken Barragree, Randy Berger, Erica Briggs, Ben Denney, Jeff Lahr, George Levi, Frank Mulholland, Mitch Swim and Jeff Voight. The following members voted NAY: None. The following members voted present: none. The following members were absent: Randy Jo Keith, David McCabe and Jim Mikeworth. WHEREUPON, Chairman Swim declared the motion carried and the resolution adopted and did direct the secretary to record the same in full in the records of the Authority.

<u>Resolution No. 18-0007 – A Resolution regarding the Scheduling of Meetings</u> <u>for 2019 and 2020</u> - Staff presented the Resolution. Following discussion, it was moved and seconded to approve the Resolution as presented. The motion carried. <u>Election of Officers</u> – Discussion took place regarding the election of Officers for the coming fiscal year until replaced. IT was moved and seconded to elect Mitch Swim – Chairman, George Levi – Vice-Chairman, Jeff Lahr – Secretary and David McCabe – Treasurer, Andrew Hamilton as Executive Director, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer and Ethics Officer with authorization to take actions necessary for any or all of those elected to sign on all accounts of the Authority. Following discussion, the motion carried.

With no further business, it was moved by Member Berger and seconded Member Lahr to adjourn. The motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 1:04 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by, Jeff Lahr, Secretary